Tuesday Talks · Uncategorized

Tuesday Talk: Grimdark, it Grinds My Gears

It’s Tuesday again, so welcome back to another installment of Tuesday Talk!

Though I find myself in the situation where I’m not sure what to talk about this Tuesday… this might end up being a theme at least once a week every few weeks. But it’s also fun, because this means anything can happen!

Hmm, I’ve held onto this thought for awhile but why is it that for something—literature, comics, TV, novels, etc.—to be considered a serious or highbrow work of art, it has to be as gritty and dark as possible?

Think about the media that you consume on a daily basis; and now see if you notice a pattern of the main cast of characters going through a whole lot of suffering with either no end in sight, or that happiness keeps getting snatched away from them every time. Or that characters get killed off only to add to another character’s pain and further the plot along. Now maybe I’m a jaded former English major that read too many books about Bad Things Happening to Good People(tm) filled with needlessly dead characters who deserved better, but this is getting really old to me.

There’s nothing wrong with happy endings! Grimdark ≠ Realism! Oh, and before I forget, Grimdark is simply a story set in a world where everything is dark, violent and everything is really Bad.

Contrary to popular belief, the world isn’t complete hell and happily ever after isn’t just for fairy tales. Stories, much like the world we live in, have different paths that lead to different ends. Maybe the reason that the gritty and dark stories seem to grab the most attention and praise is because it reinforces the unfortunate idea that life is this endless ball of toil and suffering, and that all the bad in the world is constantly eclipsed by the good. It’s not, it’s really not.

Good exists in both stories and life, they’re just harder to see and even harder to find. And if you’re really having issues finding a good book or an act of kindness that restores your faith in humanity? Write your own happy endings! Both in the form of writing and in the form of your actual life!

And on a final, sort of sappy note, you’re not silly or soft or weak for wanting things to end on a high note. If anyone ever told you that, then that’s their issue, not yours.

Oh wow, that got a little sappy at the end didn’t it? My bad? I didn’t think it’d go that direction but there it went! I think this is a good place to end it off, and I hope you enjoy the sap today. If you guys know any books that have a happy ending, feel free to tell me about them in the comments, I’d love to hear about them; maybe I’ll read them. Or if you just want to convince me that I’m wrong, that’ll be fun too! Don’t worry, tomorrow’s prompt will come with 100% less sap and 100% more fun.

Have a good rest of the day, and this is Kryssie signing off!

Leave a Reply

